top of page

Sweet Food For Thought: My Conversation with Brandon Byrd-Owner of Goodies Frozen Custard and Treats


“In the DMV there are so many restaurants and ice cream places but no one looks like Goodies.”- Brandon Byrd


Throughout the DMV there can be such a massive number of choices for frozen treats that it can get to be overwhelming and then underwhelming once the choice has finally been made. The hunt for a different kind of experience is what drives so many like-minded customers who crave authenticity with their dining experience. People are summarily tired of the fast-casual experience where you pick your items and then pay. We want a story that we can connect with and then share with our community of friends and family. The consumer wants a new kind of conversation with our favorite restaurants. Not only is that search for the consumer but also for the entrepreneur, who wants to present a distinctive new product. Theirs is the search for a unique selling point that makes them stand out in a crowd and is one of the most important dialogues about the brand that they will have. Brandon Byrd, the owner of Goodies Frozen Custard and Treats wants that new business owner just starting to look in the mirror, take their time on the story of their brand but also not to be so hard on themselves because they ”Don’t control when genius strikes.” If this resonates with you then my conversation with Brandon Byrd will inspire you and help with your search for authenticity, sustainability and uniqueness. His ultimate dream especially now that he is in a brick and mortar location is to inspire others and to ultimately bring clinics and seminars to the community to share knowledge. “ If I win you win.” With Brandon, winning isn’t only for others but for his family too. He wants most of all to provide a platform for the next generation of the Byrd family by giving them the legacy of ownership and with Goodies, this will be another step in the right direction.









Why was it important for you to evoke these memories with your brand?

“I grew up around soulful music, Wilson Pickett, Chuck Berry, Aretha Franklin my parents’ music. It became ingrained in me. Music was always around pleasant moments as a child. Vintage Americana. My step father owned a junkyard with pre -1970’s vehicles, none older than the 60’s. I wanted to replicate my childhood. When America was known for industry and the standard of having a quality product- known around the world. Made in America meant something. The Icehouse was built in 1931 almost 100 years old. It’s solid building, if it was built in 2021 wouldn’t be as solid as that building. Things from yesteryear were meant to be repaired and not replaced because they were of such good quality. I started thinking about these things with the brand. My stepfather repaired instead of replacing. America went from production to consumption. Goods now are made to be replaced and not repaired.”


How important is community outreach?

"We participated in community garden day as well as giving food to nurses. Without the community there is no us. Goodies is here because of the community. My older sister is a nurse at the same hospital. If you go above and beyond the community will show you love.”



Why the building at 200 commerce street? Why not stay mobile?

“Having a permanent location was always a part of the strategy of creating a legacy. Goodies is a vintage brand. It didn’t work going to a new community with a vintage forever brand. The 1931 building continues the authenticity of the brand. Being a renter wasn’t entrepreneurship. Entrepreneurship creates your own destiny. Having uncomfortable experiences pushes you to have comfortable experiences. Own your own real estate. Owning has always been important.”






Has being an entrepreneur always been your focus what kinds of jobs have you previously had?

“I worked in corporate America as the Marketing Director for XXL magazine. I did brand marketing and events. Even as a child I had an entrepreneurial spirit. I sold candy in junior high. I picked up cans and went to the recycling center and got $135.00 as a kid. I got laid off at XXL which was a fresh start for me . I asked myself what was my next move? That’s how Goodies was born. I want to feel good about my kids coming to my job.”


What is your dream for the brand?

"Major corporations with deep pockets failed during the pandemic and I am still here. Generational wealth for is important for my family. I want my 3 nieces to take over. My inspiration has been Ben's Chilli Bowl in Washington, DC. It's a generational business/ legacy- staying true to the core of the brand and its message. Great businesses shift and pivot to meet the demands of the industry and the core of the business is the custard which can branch off into other opportunities."


Why did you choose Wisconsin style custard?

"I am from there. There was no authentic Wisconsin style custard in the DMV. I am bringing a taste of the Midwest to the East Coast. I don’t want to just make a transaction. Most businesses don’t get to know the customers. I want to make it an experience. I never wanted an assembly experience. I either wanted a superior product or superior customer experience to cut through the color."




bottom of page