top of page

Does Vogue Still Dream?


As many in the fashion world have seen recently, the Vogue Challenge continues to inspire artistic imaginations and stir the creative genius of so many people around the world. I believe that Anna Wintour and other editors should thoughtfully consider how people considered to be “unknowns” have totally and quite frankly outshined Vogue covers in recent memory. Just scrolling through many of the images I found several things that stood out to me. Firstly, the artfulness/ art direction of the pictures are magnificent then brilliant work of the photographer to expertly capture in a moment the uniqueness of the subjects themselves and of their blackness is worth a bravo and finally and to me as equally as important is that one picture can transport the viewer into a dream world, that they long wish existed. I think the covers of Vogue magazine have lost that in a sense. It honestly is the same roundup of actresses, singers etc. in the sort of same styled phtograph which isn't really connecting/compelling anymore. I want it to be more artsy. The covers don't stand out among other magazines visually anymore. I still believe that Vogue Magazine should be a place to go to dream but for a young, black millennial like me I still want to tear out pages and post them to my wall and unfortunately due to so many of the ads and too few interesting fashion editorials I haven’t done that in quite a long time. Many of the Vogue Challenge pictures have been the inspiration that so many have longingly wanted to see in Vogue. I slightly still dare to think that Vogue can become that dream place for me.

bottom of page